Laali Vadlamani wins Union Presidency for Hilary 2018

first_imgLaali Vadlamani is the Oxford Union’s new President-elect for Michaelmas 2017 following her uncontested election on Friday 9 June. She will become President in Hilary term.The ex-Treasurer from Trinity College received 496 first preference votes, with 136 votes going to RON.This marks a particularly low turnout for the Union with only 770 members turning out to vote.Members also voted for New College’s Stephen Horvath as their Treasurer-elect and St John’s Ed Evans as Secretary. The Librarian-elect is to be Sabriyah Saeed. All officer positions were uncontested as was the position for President. The Standing Committee and Secretary’s Committee have also been elected with a particularly close result between Standing Committee candidates. Both sets of Committee positions were contested and saw James Lamming (Standing Committee) and Charles Wang (Secretary’s Committee) come out on top. Michael Harkness is the Returning Officer.  See the full results below:OFFICERSTreasurer-elect: Stephen Horvath – 499 (RON – 114)Secretary: Ed Evans – 498Librarian-elect: Sabriyah Saeed – 496 (RON – 119)STANDING COMMITTEE (in order of number of first-preference votes)James Lamming – 129Brian Wong – 126Shivani Ananth– 123Julian Kirk – 122Jan Bialas – 108Runner up: Grace Joel – 88SECRETARY’S COMMITTEE (in order of number of first-preference votes)Charles Wang – 82Shanuk Mediwaka – 77Adam Watson – 66Alex Yeandle – 63Abigail Ridsdill-Smith – 58Isabella Risino – 58Charlie Cheesman – 58Chris Garner – 51Freya Dixon Van Dijk – 50Genevieve Athis – 48Mike Fuller – 42Runner-up: Matthew Vautrey – 41First Eliminated: Will Taylor – 25last_img read more

See More