Lamar Men, Abilene Christian Women Win 2017 Cross Country Championships

first_imgCombined Final Results (PDF) | HighlightsABILENE, Texas – Cold, wind, rain, sleet. Mother Nature threw everything she had at the 2017 Southland Conference Cross Country Championships but the conference competitors brought the heat to Abilene on Friday with Lamar men and Abilene Christian women earning team titles. Northwestern State 24:56.4 Crowe finished with an 8K time of 24:29.1, followed by a pair of McNeese seniors, Nathan Jones (24:33.8) and Enrique Soto (24:42.9). UIW men also earned top-five finishes with junior Garrett Cortez taking fourth place (24:50.1) and Deion Hardy finishing fifth (24:53.7). The Hackett twins left no doubt as to who the top two finishers would be on the women’s side, jumping out to a commanding lead from the onset of the race and never looking back. Alexandria edged her sister by just over three seconds, clocking a 6K time of 20:27.8 to win Athlete of the Year and First Team All-Conference honors. Michaela finished just behind in 20:31.1. Fellow Wildcat Diana Garcia Munoz took third with a time of 21:07.4. A pair of McNeese runners, Katja Woelfl (21:17.0) and Gladys Jerotich (21:24.0) took fourth and fifth, respectively. Michaela Hackett Abilene Christian 20:27.8 Allyson Girard 412 78-81-82-85-86 The 2018 Southland Conference Cross Country Championships will be hosted by McNeese in Lake Charles, La. Nicholls Oliver James McNeese Athlete of the Year: Jamie Crowe, LamarFreshman of the Year: Brian Flanagan, McNeeseNewcomer of the Year: Jamie Crowe, LamarCoach of the Year: Tony Houchin, Lamar McNeese 21:17.0 New Orleans Joshua Wilkins Alexandria Hackett 99 4-5-19-35-36 Abilene Christian 25:05.7 Stephen F. Austin Lamar Lamar 21:38.1 Central Arkansas Abilene Christian Lamar Texas A&M-Corpus Christi 245 32-39-40-66-68 Southeastern Louisiana 247 43-44-45-53-62 103 9-10-19-30-35 Abilene Christian 21:07.4 161 12-24-36-41-48 Abilene Christian Lamar 24:59.0 Second Team Taryn Surratt Nicholls Stephen F. Austin 21:39.1 141 13-18-24-30-56 244 28-38-53-60-65 44 1-2-3-6-32 Men’s Final Team Standings Team Points Scoring Finishes Evelyn Chavez 80 4-5-22-23-26 Carnley Graham For those athletes who qualify, the NCAA South Central Regional qualifying race will take place on Friday, Nov. 10 in College Station, Texas, hosted by Texas A&M. The 2017 NCAA Cross Country Championships will take place at E.P. Tom Sawyer State Park in Louisville, Ky., on Saturday, Nov. 18. McNeese 21:24.0 310 57-59-62-63-69 Athlete of the Year: Alexandria Hackett, Abilene ChristianFreshman of the Year: Katy Whiteoak, LamarNewcomer of the Year: Gladys Jerotich, McNeeseCoach of the Year: Jarvis Jelen, Abilene Christian 357 64-67-70-75-81 91 7-15-18-20-31 252 38-41-47-57-69 UIW Abilene Christian’s winning 44-point team tally was followed by Lamar with 73 points and McNeese with 80. A&M-Corpus Christi finished fourth with 91 points and Stephen F. Austin fifth with 103. UIW, Central Arkansas, Sam Houston State, Houston Baptist and Southeastern Louisiana rounded out the top 10 while Northwestern State, Nicholls and New Orleans finished out the women’s team finishes. Lamar 24:56.6 294 40-56-61-66-71 The Cardinal men continued their dominance in Southland cross country, winning their fifth-straight title, 16th overall and 11th in the last 12 years. ACU women, behind the dominating performance of twins Alexandria and Michaela Hackett, won their second team championship in three years.In addition, individual superlatives for Athlete of the Year, Freshman of the Year and Newcomer of the Year awards were given to the top individual finishers in those categories, as well as Coach of the Year honors to the winning teams’ distance coaches. First Team All-Conference awards went to the top five finishers in each race while Second Team All-Conference honors went to sixth-place through 10th-place finishers.Lamar needed every inch to take home the team title, finishing deadlocked with McNeese at 42 points when all was said and done. The Cardinals’ standout junior Jamie Crowe proved the difference maker, breaking the tie with his top individual performance. For his efforts, he was named Athlete of the Year, Newcomer of the Year and First Team All-Conference to pace Lamar to the team title.center_img 73 8-11-13-14-27 Houston Baptist Women’s Final Team Standings UIW 24:53.7 112 16-17-21-25-33 122 14-17-25-29-37 42 2-3-9-12-16 UIW First Team Men’s Individual Superlatives McNeese 24:33.8 Second Team Lamar 24:29.1 Men’s All-Conference Teams 42 1-7-8-11-15 Enrique Soto Gladys Jerotich Garrett Cortez UIW 24:50.1 405 76-80-82-83-84 Jamie Crowe Sam Houston State Central Arkansas Southeastern Louisiana Houston Baptist Team Points Scoring Finishes Jerotich, a junior transfer from UTEP, was the top newcomer finisher, earning Newcomer of the Year distinction along with her First Team All-Conference honors for a top-five finish. Cormac Kelly Matthew Arnold Katja Woelfl Diana Garcia-Munoz On the men’s side, McNeese’s runner-up finish was followed by UIW with 99 team points, Central Arkansas with 122 and Stephen F. Austin with 137 to round out the top five. Sam Houston State, Abilene Christian, Texas A&M-Corpus Christi, Southeastern Louisiana and Houston Baptist finished sixth through 10th. Northwestern State, New Orleans and Nicholls finished 11th, 12th and 13th, respectively. Women’s Individual Superlatives New Orleans Stephen F. Austin Northwestern State McNeese 24:59.3 Abilene Christian 20:31.1 Northwestern State Ryan Cleary Texas A&M-Corpus Christi Sam Houston State 172 10-21-28-55-58 137 20-26-27-31-33 297 43-47-50-78-79 Stephen F. Austin 21:42.0 McNeese 24:42.9 Nathan Jones 340 51-63-71-75-80 Texas A&M-Corpus Christi 21:34.9 Women’s All-Conference TeamsFirst Team Abilene Christian 21:25.3 Brittany Innis Deion Hardy 270 6-54-61-73-76 McNeeselast_img

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *